Psalm 5:3

In the morning, O LORD, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait in expectation.

Last week we took a close look at the life of Hannah, a Woman of Prayer. We were able to learn a few key things about her attitude of prayer.
• She opened her heart completely before the Lord
• She gave God praise, while waiting in expectation
• She was willing to give up what most mattered to her

1 Samuel 1:15

…I was pouring out my soul to the Lord…

Hannah, approached the throne of grace with confidence. She knew she could lay all her worries, her hurts, fears, and insecurities before a God who cared for her. She went to the Source.

1 Samuel 1:19

Early the next morning they arose and worshipped before the Lord and then went back to their home.

Regardless of the issues that surrounded Hannah, she was still able to praise God and worship.

Psalm 43:5

Why are you do downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.

1 Samuel 1:11

And she made a vow, saying, O Lord Almighty, if you would only look upon your servant’s misery, and not forget your servant but give her a son, then I will give him to the Lord for all the days of his life, and no razor will ever be used on his head.

Hannah asked for the one thing she most desired, a son, AND was willing to give up that very thing.

I believe Hannahs heart was in the right place. If she was to receive a son, Hannah would still make God her priority. She was willing to give up the very thing that would mean most to her.

I think we get caught up in this a lot. Many times we ask God for things but we never receive them or at least not on our “schedule”. Could it be that our intentions or motives are not right? Could it be that God sees that thing would misplace him in our lives if we were to receive it? Or, simply that our time is not Gods time?

God clearly lets us know that his ways and our ways are very different.

Isaiah 55:8 says:

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

Because of Hannah’s heart, God granted her request. She kept her word of giving her son to the Lord. Hannah became the mother of Samuel the Prophet. God blessed her, God blessed Samuel and God blessed many people through Samuel.

Now, let’s walk in her shoes.

Jeremiah 29:13

You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all heart.

-Cirene

