286823069987677259_itlqvtn6_c“Count it all joy, even in uncertainty!”

I received this text from my best friend. It made me stop, check myself, and think about where I stood in my faith. I don’t know if you’ve had some of those funky days where things might not seem to go right, or you receive unpleasant news? Well, I was having one of those days.

Count it all joy…even in uncertainty…

How do you do that?

Trials aren’t fun, and there is nothing joyful about uncertainty. So I asked myself, who is my trust in? God or myself? If its in myself, then its really difficult to count the tough times as joyful because I know my limitations. If I trust in God and believe in His promises, then I CAN count it all joy, even those things that seem uncertain, because what with man is impossible, with God its possible!

The Book of James goes on to say:

James 1:2-4

Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

I understood that ultimately, God wants me to grow in my faith and trust in Him. His desire for me is to allow perseverance, which flourishes through trials, to develop my character. This will allow me to grow in maturity, which results in lacking nothing.
When you think of all these reasons why God says to count it all joy, then it makes sense. Every trial and hardship is an opportunity that God provides for my faith and trust in Him to grow stronger.

So as I look back to that trial and hardship, I can look at it with new eyes and with a different perspective. And what I see is an opportunity to grow, so I CAN count it all joy.

So can you.

Whatever it is you are going through, allow your self to persevere! Don’t lose heart, don’t lose hope, and don’t lose courage. Hang in there and you will RISE victorious 😉

James 1:12

Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him.

