olympics-lolo-jones-fiss431

When I think of the word discipline, I think of PAIN! Why? Because it implies doing something you really don’t want to, but HAVE to do. However, you are aware of the benefits and therefore are willing to go through that sacrifice.

The first thing that comes to mind for discipline, is exercise. It is painful but worth the benefits. After a good work out, I feel relaxed, healthier and stronger. But at the moment, I feel like passing out! I want to give up, but that’s when I have to decide how bad I want the results.

With my wedding day coming up in just a few months (eeeekkk!) I have been dealing with this issue of becoming disciplined in the area of working out and eating healthier. First of all, I need to fit into my wedding gown and second I want to feel and look good! 😉 So I NEED to put the work in. It’s painful! But I know that if I discipline myself in this area, I will cultivate that healthy lifestyle I long for.

I recall watching a documentary on one of America’s top track and field athletes, Lolo Jones. Watching her story was very inspiring! Lolo Jones had her eyes on the prize. She trained, and trained hard. She was disciplined and therefore, became the best in her field. She could have spent her time on friends, having fun or other things, but her passion was running and becoming the best so she stayed focus and became just that. Although she did not take home the gold medal at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, she did win the silver at the 2008 World Athletics Final!

Her story also reminded me that there will be times that will be tough and you might feel like giving up but that’s when the holy spirit brings to remembrance God’s Word.

Whatever area you know you need to become more disciplined in, whether it be health, organization, studying God’s Word, taking care of your home, becoming a better student or employee, God’s PROMISES stand TRUE!

Hebrews 12:11

No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.

NO PAIN NO GAIN

We hear and see that phrase and guess what? God had already expressed that in His Word! Discipline produces a harvest of righteousness and peace. For who? Those who have been TRAINED through discipline. We need to be consistent and keep trying, keep pushing.

What do we do when we feel we CAN’T?

God provides us with this:

2 Timothy 1:7

For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline.

You see, we already have it in us. We have the capability to be disciplined and to succeed and reap the benefits of all the hard work.

So lets encourage each other to keep trying and keep pushing, knowing that although its painful at the moment, the results will be worth it.

Cheers!
<3Cirene

