adCleaningCouplesmallhalfOne of the things I love about reading novels and stories is being able to go to those secret places of the characters heart and mind. I am able to get a different perspective and walk in that character’s shoes.

As I read through the Psalms of David today, I came across Psalm 26: 2-3 which reads:

Test me, O lord, and try me, examine my heart and my mind; for your love is ever before me, and I walk continually in your truth.

 

I was intrigued and challenged by David’s transparency and openness before the Lord. These verses brought me to question my transparency and openness before God.
Was I allowing God to enter and examine the secret places of my heart and mind?
Was there anything hidden that I did not want to acknowledge before God?

This kind of “deep house cleaning” needs to be done often. I know in my home there are chores that need to be done on a daily basis such as wash dishes, clean counters and sweep. Other chores could be done at least once a week like mop, throw out trash, put groceries away etc. However, if these chores don’t get done, our home wouldn’t be a pleasant place.

So I ask you and myself…Is our heart and mind a pleasant place for God to be?

If yes, how lovely a place that must be. A heart that is free and open for God to peek into every room and not find anything unpleasant (or something you haven’t already brought to His attention); if not, I invite you to take a moment and bring to the surface that which you have swept under the rug.

You see there is nothing that can separate you from God’s love for you (Romans 8:38-39). Whatever you had hidden from God, bring it to light. Whether it be hurt, fears, insecurities, sin, the past, the future, anything at all, bring it before the Lord and allow Him to take care of it and you (1 Peter 5:7).

Your heart will then be a pleasant and welcoming place for God to dwell.

Watermark – My Heart Your Home

 

