Hello Ladies!

I’ve missed you for the last few weeks! I’m so excited to be back and share with you what God is doing in this new season of my life as…A Wife! 😉

On May 18th I married my Best Friend, Robert Marquez, and have been enjoying and learning about this new journey we’re on as husband and wife.

600932_461519203941388_1274839980_n

There is definitely a lot to learn and I love turning to women who have been an inspiration to me through their example of faith, love and hard work! This particular woman, Elizabeth George, I don’t know personally but she has been a constant companion to me through her many devotional books. One of the most recent ones I just picked up is “A Wife After God’s Own Heart.”

216307

I know that many of us share the desire to be godly women in every season of our lives, and that’s exactly what the heart of this book is all about. A wife after God’s own heart is a woman who is looking towards her Creator for direction and guidance in the role of a godly wife.

In the first two chapters of this book I have already learned valuable lessons as Elizabeth George shares from her 38 years of marriage (at the time the book was written). I love that she begins the theme of her chapters with a verse from God’s Word. The first verse, which sets the foundation of the book, is found in the book of Matthew:

But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. Matthew 6:33

This verse speaks volumes! The “all things” that it is referring to are the daily needs and necessities such as food, water, clothing etc. Basically, this verse lets us know that when we place God first in our lives, this will in turn create balance. The key is having God as our priority because when we do, we will know how to live our lives and trust that He will provide for our every need.

The second chapter focuses on Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their labor: If either of them falls down, one can help the other up. But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help them up.Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm. But how can one keep warm alone?Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.

I have really treasured this verse. It speaks about the importance of friendship and being a team in a marriage. Elizabeth George reminds us in the second chapter that our relationship with our husbands first began with a friendship and therefore, we should continue to nourish it and grow together as a team.

Bobby (Robert) and I hold this principle really dear to us because we have understood the value and importance of the calling God has for us as a married couple. Together we will also embark on a new journey which we invite you to read and see. SHE READS. I WRITE. http://shereadsiwrite.com/

68968_4965157257057_390254879_n

So no matter what season in life you are in, may you always be a Woman After God’s Own Heart.

❤ Cirene

